Chapter 18 – Guild Rank

PREVIOUS – TOC – NEXT

 I walked out of the training grounds and came back to the reception desk.

「So I’m going to issue the guild card now, just wait for me」

「Yes」.

 You said you were going to make it, but you haven’t looked at my magical aptitude or mock battles, is that okay?

「Yes, it’s ready」.

「Huh?」

「Fufufu. This is what we have here in the guild」.

 She pointed to what looked like a square box.

「Put in a piece of paper with the information you need in this and it will be done instantly」.

 Like a copy machine?

「Then this is Marina-chan’s guild card. Don’t lose it」.

「Yes! But what happens if I lose it?」

「I can reissue them then. But it costs a gold coin」

 Hmmm. In short, it’s like a fine. The guild card I got is about the size of a driver’s license. But it doesn’t have anything written on it.

「If you channel your magic, the letters will come out」.

 As he said that, I let the magic flow. Then the guild card flashed for a moment, revealing the letters. It said name, magic aptitude, class… and C rank. How much is it?

『Grade C is fourth from the top』

 Oh, isn’t that high?

『The ranks are, in order from highest to lowest, S.A.B.C.D.E.F. So C is exactly the middle rank』

 Is that… right?

「Yes, it seems okay. As for the ranks, I can only raise them so far at once. I’m sorry」

「What? No way, no! It’s rather too high!」

「Yeah? As far as Marina-chan’s magic goes, it looks like there’s an A, not a B, but an A…」

「I am not that about okay!」.

『So that’s about an S-plus.』

 Not that either!

「Ummm… well, if Marina-chan is like that, just let it be that way」

 I said I’ll do it… it’s getting a bit of a pain in the ass to correct… so there it goes.

「Oh, what about Gil-san and the others?」

「Gil and the others would be talking to Guildmas right now. Do you want to wait on the sofa over there until then?」

「Yes, I will」.

 I hope Gil-san and the others can come back soon.

 ーーーーーーー

 We leave Marina and head to Guildmas’s room.

「Hey? What did you think of that?」

「What’s that?」

「I’m talking about Marina-chan’s parents. Marina-chan, she said she was in the forest when she woke up, didn’t she?」

 Come to think of it, she said something like that.

「What’s that about?」

「Already! Don’t you notice? Marina-chan said, actually, that she’s already…? That means you know your parents are dead, right?」

「No, that wasn’t Marina said, okay? She never said anything about her parents death.」

「Huh? Speaking of which…」

 Yes, Marina never said a word about her parents being dead. After spending a few days with her, I found out that Marina is too smart to be five years old. Instead of answering that she didn’t know, she just seemed distracted by her pondering words and actions.

「We’ll talk about that later. For now, we need to report」.

 With that, I opened the door to the room where Guildmas was.

「Oh, Gil! Good to have you back!」

 It’s the bearded man who always greets me. He may look like a shabby old man now, but he’s a great adventurer who once made it to the S rank.

「And a report, eh?」

「Aah, can I sit down for now?」

「Oh, that’s right! Here, sit down, sit down. I’ll serve you tea now.」

 This Guildmas and I have been drinking a lot. So it’s always like this.

「When it comes to reporting… in regards to the Abyssal Forest?」

「Ah, yes. The request we got was the Forest Rabbit, right?」

「That’s right. What does it matter?」

「That’s the thing… I didn’t meet any of them at all」.

「You didn’t meet one? It’s not that rare a monster, is it?」

 The Abyssal Forest is home to a number of demons. One of them is the Forest Rabbit. So when you enter the Abyssal Forest, you will surely encounter them. But yet, we couldn’t encounter one.

「Ah. I encountered a Bullet Rabbit instead」

「Bullet Rabbit? Where the hell were you?」

「It’s not that deep. It’s where the Bullet Rabbit didn’t originally inhabit」.

「What do you mean?」

 It’s not surprising. The Bullet Rabbit lives in the deepest part of the Abyssal Forest. It’s the place where the most magical elements are concentrated and the most powerful demons are located. So much so that it is said that in order to enter there, one needs to have an S-ranked ability.

「If that’s true… we’re in big trouble…」

 When strong demons appear where weak demons normally inhabit, of course the weak will be overrun. Then, the adventurers who seek out the weak demons will be overrun as well.

「As soon as possible, I think it’s best to gather information on this, I think」.

「Ah…okay. Well, thanks for the report」.

「See you later」.

 Having said that, we left Guildmas’s room.

 ーーー

 As I was blabbering on the sofa, Gil-san and the others came out from the reception counter.

「Welcome back!」

 I greeted him with a big smile.

「Oh, did you wait?」

「I’m not waiting too long!」

「I see. So, how did it go?」

 How was it… a mock battle?

「I didn’t do any mock battles」.

「Ha! Wait, what do you mean?」

 No, I don’t want you to be so stuffy!

「Gil, your face is scary. What do you mean, Marina-chan?」

「Something told me to look at my magical aptitude, and when I used water magic, she said it was enough」.

「Is that true?」

「Yes」

 After nodding in agreement, Lina-san went to the reception desk where Karina-san was. Did I say something wrong?

「That face, You just don’t understand right?」

 Bucket-san says that…but I have no idea what he means.

「What do you mean by that?」

「As a matter of fact, there’s a rule in the guild that you must have a mock battle or something during registration」

 Oh, really? So, Karina-san, you’re feeling like you’re being negligent in your duties?

「I guess you finally understand…」

「I didn’t know that… oh! Is Karina-san okay?」

「You’re such a good-natured person to think about the other person even at a time like this. Well, I think it’s going to be okay. Look.」

 Bucket-san pointed to a dumbfounded-looking Lina-san and a giggling Karina-san. Huh? Oh, she’s back.

「Marina-chan…I think you broke the target, didn’t you?」

「Yes, it’s kind of broken」

「Huh… then I guess they made the right choice to not having Karina doing the mock battle」.

「What? What do you mean?」

「Those targets, right? There’s a mechanism that essentially absorbs magic’s magic power. That’s why it’s not supposed to be broken by magic…」

 Seriously?

「…Did I do that?」

「Well, that’s all I needed to know, Marina-chan, to know that you’re incredible. That’s why they didn’t do a mock battle」

 That’s…kind of a bummer. I don’t want all that much attention, but…

「I can understand Karina’s response this time ( or if she’s not good enough…). So you don’t have to worry about anything Marina-chan, okay?」

「…I’m sorry it’s my fault」

「It’s not Marina-chan’s fault」.

 I feel a bit responsible when you say it like that…

「So, does that mean Marina is about a D grade?」

「No, it’s a C grade」.

「C-rated? How is that possible?」

 He was doubtful, so I gave him my guild card. When he saw it, he finally convinced.

「You’re really a C-rank…」

「Well, that’s great! Then let’s go eat to celebrate!」

 So we left the guild to eat a meal.

.

.

.

.

 …It seems that the investigation team organized by Guildmas afterwards couldn’t find anything unusual in the Abyssal Forest. The being that was the source of the problem had left the forest, so the ecosystem had returned. However, no one had noticed this… including herself.

PREVIOUS – TOC – NEXT

One thought on “Chapter 18 – Guild Rank”

  1. It seems that the investigation team organized by Guildmas afterwards couldn’t find anything unusual in the Abyssal Forest. The being that was the source of the problem had left the forest, so the ecosystem had returned. However, no one had noticed this… including herself.

    😂😂😂😂😂

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a comment