Chapter 19 – Meal Condition

PREVIOUS – TOC – NEXT

 Lina-san said we should have dinner to celebrate, so we left the guild and went to a restaurant that she recommended.

「Here」.

 We arrived at a place that looked like a restaurant full of people.

「It’s just lunchtime. But there’s a seat for you」.

 They went in and took a seat without my consent. I walked into the restaurant with Lina-san and sat down.

「Here’s the menu. You don’t have to worry about the money. So please order what you want.」

 That being said, I’m kind of shy about it… I look through the menu to see which one I want to order.

「Heh?」

 All that was written there was a steak, soup, and salad.

「What’s up with that?」

「…Is this the only kind?」

「Yes, but…less?」

 No, I mean, isn’t that a bit much, three…

This world is not as well-developed as Earth.

 Oh, really?

『Yes. On the contrary, there are few worlds where food culture is as well developed as on Earth』

 Seriously…

「Why, what’s going on?」

 As I was dazed by the fact that it was too shocking, Lina-san peeked in with concern.

「…it’s nothing」

 I wouldn’t say that!

「So…so… what’s your order?」

 Oh no… There’s almost no choice for an order or anything else.

「Then I’ll have the steak」

「Want a salad?」

「Yes!」

 Lina-san ordered from the waitress. I didn’t know that the food culture wasn’t developed…

「Ah, do they have bread?」

「Bread? Yes, but do you really want to eat that stuff?」

 Huh? What’s that stuff?

「What kind of thing?」

「Hmmm…sounds like an emergency food.」

 Hiii, emergency food… does that mean it’s ticklish?

「Oh, here they are.」

 What arrived with that voice was a huge steak on a plate. Could we finish it? And a salad in a wooden bowl…but there was no sauce on it.

「You have to eat with this」.

 Lina-san handed me a fork and a knife. I’ll try to cut them as soon as possible, but…

「H-, hard…」

「Oh! Marina-chan! I’ll cut it off for you.」

 I decided to take Lina-san’s word for it. Then she cuts the steak I was struggling with a moment ago with ease. Eh, different knife? Even though I couldn’t cut it easily like that?

「Yes! You can eat if this size」

 She carefully cut it into bite size pieces.

「Oh, thank you very much」.

 I thanked her and thrust my fork into the steak. Then the juices poured out of the cut, and when I brought it to my mouth, they began to flow even more. The meat was so tender that I couldn’t believe it couldn’t be cut earlier.

「Delicious?」

「Yes!」

 I think it’s lightly salted. But the meat tastes so good, so good! But it’s still a bit lacking. I wish I had some steak sauce…and a salad dressing. The salad was just a platter of raw vegetables. I know some recipes for sauces and dressings, so I can make them if I have the ingredients… but I don’t know the names of the ingredients over here.

『I can check them against the information on Earth』

 Oh, really? We’ll see you then.

『Yes, sir.』

「I knew the steaks here were good!」

「Really…」

 Gil and Bucket seem to like it too. I eat it too, but it’s a bit much, as expected. I finished about half of it and I’m already full.

「Ara? Is that enough for you, Marina-chan?」

「Yes! I’m full of it!」

「Yes. That would have been nice, then.」

 Lina-san…she’s eating not one, but two pieces. Where is it gone? Fina-san hasn’t spoken once since we talked in the cave, but all she does is eat salad. Doesn’t she like meat?

「Fina, you need to eat a little steak too.」

「…ya. I okay with this one」

「Really…」

 You’re like a big sister, Lina-san. The steak I left behind was eaten by Gil-san.

 We finish our meal and leave the dining room.

「Well… what are you going to do now Marina?」

 That’s what Gil-san told me, but…I don’t know what I’m going to do.

「I haven’t decided at the moment. But I’d like to get some money」.

 You can’t do anything without money, you know.

「Money… oh right, Marina, you could use storage magic, right?」

 The inventory is called storage magic by Gil-san and the others. The difference between storage magic and inventory is that it has a limited capacity and time flows directly through it. Inventory is a time stop.

 So, why didn’t I mention that? God is hiding the status, so I thought it was best not to tell them.

 A quiet moment.

「Yes」

「and isn’t there any Jiril grass in it?」

「It’s in there, but… what about it?」

「That thing can’t be used for potions, but it’s nourishing and revitalizing, which is why it sells well in commercial guilds」.

 Oh! You mentioned that too. I’ve already had countless amounts of Jiril grass, and time stands still, so it’s fresh. I’m sure they’ll sell for a lot of money.

「I see…I’ll sell it then!」

「Well, wait. Marina doesn’t know anything about common sense, you know. I’m coming with you」

 Did people think I was so uncommon! That’s out of the question!

 There was no way he could hear my heart like that, and then Gil-san walked off.

「Marina-chan, don’t worry so much about it! (And we can teach you common sense!)」

 …Lina-san, I can hear you. I’m not sure if everyone thought I was ignorant or not… Well, it’s true, I know very little about this world. If you say so, I don’t know if that’s true, but…it still hurts.

 I followed Gil-san and the others, feeling a little depressed.

PREVIOUS – TOC – NEXT

One thought on “Chapter 19 – Meal Condition”

Leave a comment