Chapter 20 – Commercial Guild

PREVIOUS – TOC – NEXT

 When I followed Gil-san, I arrived at the adventurer’s guild I came from earlier.

「Is this a commercial guild?」

「No, not here. The Commercial Guild is the place next to the Adventurer’s Guild.」

 That being said, I looked next to it and saw a building the same size as the Adventurer’s Guild. Could this be a commercial guild?

「Here we go.」

 I follow Gil-san into the commercial guild. Then there’s a counter, no different from the adventurer’s guild, but there’s no tavern-like atmosphere. It was kind of refreshing.

 Gil-san heads to the reception desk.

「I’d like you to do some purchases done.」

「Yes. What do you sell?」

「Jiril grass」

「Jiril grass?」

 The receptionist is surprised, but is it really that surprising? It was in your face, Lina-san explained.

「Jiril grass is very rare because it’s not collected very often. That’s why no one brings it that often」.

 Nah, I see… there were a lot of them in that forest, but I probably shouldn’t mentioned that…

「and how much is it anyway?」

 When the receptionist asked that, Gil-san turned to me.

「Marina, how much can you deliver?」

 How much…

「Ummm…about a hundred?」

「Hiii, a hundred?!」

 Oh? I was trying to be quite restrained, though…

「(Marina-chan…how much can you really offer?)」

「( umm…500 more to go)」

「(… you”re not allowed to say that, okay?)」

「(O, Okay…)」

 While I was having such a conversation with Lina-san in a whisper, it seems that Gil-san was proceeding with the subject.

「And, for now, I’ll take you to the reception room…」

 It’s kind of a big topic…I just want the money though.

「Marina, let’s go」.

「Yes」.

 With Totetote, I followed Gil-san. This body steps are so small… (Totetote is term used for the cute way of kids walking, with little steps following the adult behind)

 Apparently the receiving room is on the second floor and we climbed the stairs. Then we entered one room. Inside, it was a simple room with just a table and two sofas.

「He, here it is. Guildmas will be here, so please wait until then…」

 Saying that, the receptionist left the room.

「Surely. I knew you didn’t have any common sense, but I didn’t expect you to go this far…」

「What? Am I that uncommon?」

「Of course! You don’t know how bad 100 Jiril grasses are!」

 Yeah, I didn’t know that. I just thought it was like a weed that grew everywhere…

「Well, let me negotiate the amount of money. I don’t want them to get it on you.」

「Oh, please…」

 It would certainly sold for a couple bucks if it was me…

 As we were having this conversation, I could feel the presence of people approaching the room. The presence stopped in front of the door and the door opened.

「I’m sorry to have you wait for me」

 It was a dandy old man who came in saying that.

「No, I’m fine. So? Will you purchase it for us?」

「Yes. Yes, of course. Even so, it’s hard to believe that there are 100 jiril grasses… it’s hard for me to believe…」

「I agree with you on that…」

「What do you mean? Isn’t Gil-san the one who has it?」

「No, not me. Marina has it」.

「Who is Marina…」

 He looked around at the people in the room and then stopped to look at me.

「No way…is that the girl?」

「Ah. That’s right」

 Gil-san told me that, and he looks at me again. I mean, I wonder if he is an acquaintance of Gil-san? He was calling him by his name.

「Really…no, you have storage?」

 Wow. Bingo. Well, I don’t have a bag that I can put giril grass in right now, so it’s not surprising that you think so.

「Ummm… still hard to believe, but… can you show me the real thing?」

 He said to me, not to Gil-san, but to me. I looked at Gil-san and he nodded, so it would be okay to let it out.

「Yes, here it is,」

 I took out a strand of Jiril grass from my inventory and handed it to the person in Guildmas.

「Storage holder indeed… and this Jiril grass is undeniably real… yes. Thank you. Now can you put it out in this box?」

 That said, what he brought out was a rectangular box made of wood. It’s big enough to hold 100 jiril grasses.

「Marina, you can put it out.」

 Gil-san gave me permission to put out a box of Jiril grass. It’s exactly 100 plants. Then the number 『100』 appeared on the side of the box. It looks like it has a function to count them. That’s convenient!

「It’s exactly 100 plants. And it’s definitely all Jiril grass (I didn’t think you really had this much…)」

 I can hear it clearly. I wonder how I can hear even a whisper that a normal person would never hear?

『If you focus your mind, you can even hear up the sound of a needle falling a kilometer away』

 That’s scary! That’s a hell-ear!

「100 Jiril grasses. And the freshness is class S…」

 Eh?

「What do you mean by “freshness is class S”?」

「I mean it’s very good for freshness. I thought you could think of it as being like the rank of an adventurer」

 Heh…

「That face, You have no idea how incridible it is right?…」

 Huh? Is it that great?

 When I tilted my head at that thought, Lina-san spoke with a sigh.

「Why? Because It’s usually impossible for them to be fresh and class S, right?」

「Ehh! Really?」

「Yes. I’ve been an adventurer for a long time, but I’ve never heard of S-class freshness before」

 Wow….I think I’ve got it.

「That’s why this Jiril grass will sell well. Well… how about 300 gold coins?」

 Even if you ask me how it is…I look at Gil-san for help.

「Huh…I had a feeling this was going to happen…」

 What? You were expecting that?

「Marina, don’t worry. This price is fine. It’s fine」

 If that’s what you say, Gil-san, is it okay?

「So we need to get some money… Oh, Marina-san, are you registered with the commercial guild?」

「No? It’s just the Adventurer’s Guild…」

「Well, that’s a quick story then. Could you lend me your guild card for a moment?」

「It’s ok, but… what are you doing with that?」

「Just registering for the commercial guild. Then you’ll be able to put money on your guild card and make purchases」

 Whew! Can you use it like electronic money? That would be great. Oh, I’ll ask Gil-san first…

「It’s okay. We do it, and most adventurers are registered」.

「I see. Then please」.

「So, do you want to put the money on the card as well?」

 Hmmm… certainly that would be less bulky, but I’d also like some cash just in case.

「Half in cash, please」

「Okay. Please wait a moment.」

 With that, he also left the room with the box containing the Jiril grasses.

「I didn’t think it was 300…」

「Is it really that impressive?」

「Ah. Most of the time, Jiril grass is one gold coin for each one. Besides, that’s the original sales price. That means the purchase itself is a bit higher」

 Hoho. So I got about three times the price for the purchase. Isn’t this crazy?

「You’ve become rich all at once.」

 Sure, I was completely clueless until just now.

「Well, I’m not sure if I’m going to get this much to spend, though」.

「That’s right too」.

 In this world, the monthly income is about 5 gold coins. So 300 coins is equivalent to 60 months’ worth of them.

 …Can I use it all up?

 As I was worrying about this, the Guildmas person came back.

「The registration has been successfully completed. Also, this is 150 gold coins. Please confirm」

 Then, with a bang, he placed a heavy bag on the desk. So much for this!

「and I will return your guild card」

 The guild card that was handed to me hadn’t changed at all.

「If you channel Marina-san’s magic power, you can see the balance」

 I immediately channeled my magic power. Then the number 【150,000】 faintly appeared. Apparently, it appears to be displayed in Lithia.

「You were able to confirm it properly. If you come to the commercial guild, you can take in and out from there at any time. Also, this is the payment」.

「Oh, thank you very much」.

 Watch out, I almost forgot…

「Can you bring the whole bag?」

「Yes. I’m fine」

 Does it feel like an envelope on earth? For now, I stored the whole bag in the inventory.

「Then I’ll send you outside」.

「Oh, before we go, can I ask your name?」

 Come to think of it, you didn’t ask.

「Well, I didn’t tell you that. My name is Laurent」.

 Laurent-san sent us to the outside of the guild and we left the commercial guild without further ado.

PREVIOUS – TOC – NEXT

6 thoughts on “Chapter 20 – Commercial Guild”

  1. if the other person wasn’t their then mc would have just dumpped all of the grass on the table imagine the reaction also now mc has a steady income as she could go every month and give it in 100 amounts

    Like

  2. I would absolutely love to see you translate more of this novel. It’s cute and I can see it going places if the author can figure it out.

    Like

Leave a comment