Chapter 21 – Inn


 When we got out of the commercial guild, the area was already dark.

「That’s enough for today. Let’s go to the inn 」

「Huh? Didn’t Gil-san and the others all reside here? 」

「Ah. We’ve been here quite a long time, but actually we’ve been travelling a lot of places」.

 Hee! Then maybe I should try to travel around this world too. Besides, I can’t go home anyway.

「Let’s go then. I will pay for Marina」

「Heh? That’s not necessary! I also received some money」.

「You kid should not be too reserved. Come on, let’s go.」

 With that, Gil-san walked off. I hurriedly followed him.

「Sorry, Marina-chan. Gil doesn’t mean anything」

「I’m fine. Rather, thank you! 」

 As a Japanese, It’s not good to carelessly accept man’s invitation, but I can’t let the favor go to waste, can I?

 As we continued walking, Gil-san suddenly stopped.

「Here. Let’s go in」.

 With that said, what we entered was a small, two-story building with an entrance sign that said [Yadoriki-tei].

「Now, shall we go in? 」

「Okay」.

 Open the door and go inside. There are many tables and chairs inside. There were many people eating their meals at the table. Apparently the inn and the cafeteria are in the same building.

「Over here」.

 Lina-san led me to a small counter in the corner back of the room.

「There’s no single room available, so you’ll be sleeping with me and fina, is that okay? 」

「It’s okay! 」

 I would prefer it that way, I feel lonely being in a room by myself.

「Yes. Well then, let’s go to the room now.」

「Yes」

 The room seems to be on the second floor so we go up the stairs.

「Here」

 We arrived at the room at the corner. When I entered, there were three beds lined up for each person. Other than that, it was a simple room with a small round table and chairs, and a closet.

「Which bed do you want? 」

「Hmmm… I don’t really mind which one. 」

「That’s right… Well, let’s stick them together then.」

「Good idea! Oh, is that okay with Fina-san too? 」

 I almost forgot she was there.

「… Nnn… That’s fine.」

「Well, let’s put this bed in the middle… Can you carry it, Marina-chan? 」

「It’s okay! Do you want me to bring this bed over there? 」

「Yeah, that’s right」.

 I didn’t think it would be a wise idea if I dragged it around, so I had to lift it up a bit, though it’s not heavy enough for a five-year-old to carry. I can easily carry it.

「Marina-chan?! Isn’t it heavy? 」

「No problem at all! Is this the right place? 」

「Yeah, yeah (I thought you were going to drag it out… What the heck are you, Marina-chan? 」

 Heck, that’s what I’m thinking too. Oh, did I mentioned that I have to go to church?

『Yes. But I think that can be done tomorrow.』

 I agree. It’s already dark.

「Okay! So let’s go downstairs and have some food」.

「Yay.」

 Yay… I wonder if it’s just salty here too…

 When I went downstairs, Gil-san and Bucket-san were already in their seats.

「Oi, over here! 」

 As we were called, we headed to the table where Gil-san was sitting.

「Marina-chan, this is the menu」.

 I looked over the menu Lina-san handed me, and it was almost identical to the restaurant we went the day before. If there was a difference, was it the soup? also bread. I’m curious to see what this bread looks like over here so I’ll order it!

「Soup and bread.」

「What? Marina-chan, do you eat bread? 」

「I’ve never had one before and I’m curious to try it! 」

「Yeah, right. Don’t expect too much, okay? 」

 Lina-san said that, but to be honest, I don’t expect much from it either. I think soft bread is something that can only be made if the food culture is developed properly.

「Well, let’s order it then」.

 Gil-san placed the order to the waitress. A short time later, the food was brought to us.

「Then let’s eat.」

「Itadakimasu」

 I said that with my hands together.

「What is that itadakimasu? 」

 Come to think of it, this concept doesn’t exist in this world.

「Well… It’s a way of saying thank you for the food and to the people who made it」

「Heh… That’s a nice one. Then itadakimasu too.」

 When Lina-san did it, the others did too. I’m kind of glad.

 I scoop the soup with a spoon and bring it to my mouth.

「Delicious? 」

「Hmm… If I had to answer whether it’s good or not, it’s good」

 It’s a salty soup with some kind of meat and vegetables as ingredients. It’s still delicious because of the flavor of the ingredients. But I think it would have been better if it was chicken stock or something.

「Yeah (well, you used to eat Jiril grass soup every day)」.

 It’s not that I don’t like it, but… Well, never mind. The bread was black, I think it was called black bread. It was very hard.

「Well, it was hard… 」

「I thought so. I’ve heard that the white bread that nobles and others eat is much softer」

 I see… So there are soft breads? But this hard bread is good too. We can just dip it in the soup to soften it.

 When I dipped the bread into the soup with that thought, everyone was surprised. Huh?

「What’s going on? 」

「No, I’ve never dipped black bread in soup before… 」

「Is that so? It’s good, you know? 」

 Take the soaked and softened bread to your mouth. Yup. It’s good. Much better if the soup is better.

「Can I have some too? 」

「Go ahead」

 As Lina-san did the same and brought it into her mouth, her eyes widened.

「Delicious! I didn’t know there was this way to eat. 」

「May I? 」

「That’s fine. Rather, please eat it. I’m already full 」.

 The meals in this world are so much more than the belly of a five year old.

Gochisōsamadeshita(Thank you for the food)

「Is that the same as saying Itadakimasu? 」

「Yes. Itadakimasu is before meal. Gochisōsamadeshita is after the meal.」

「Yeah. That’s interesting. Gochisōsamadeshita」.

 I heard that the meal is already included in the inn’s bill, so Gil-san treated me to a drink again. Tomorrow, I’d like to buy it for myself.

 I go back to my room and apply clean to my body.

「There’s something different about Marina-chan’s clean」

「Is that so? 」

「I don’t know… I feel like you’re prettier than we are.」

 That might be reasonable. What I imagined was to peel the dead skin cells and stuff like that.

「Well, everyone has their own thing. Let’s go to bed then」.

「Yes」

「Marina-chan is in the middle. 」

 It was decided. Well, I’d be better off that way, too.

 As I crawled into the bed, I felt a little stiff. Apparently it’s just the board underneath. That hurts. But it doesn’t bother me that much, so I guess it’s okay.

「What are you going to do tomorrow? 」

「Tomorrow I want to go to the market and buy some food and stuff… Oh, and the church. 」

「Church? 」

「Yes. I thought I’d do a little prayer」

「Is that so? Okay, understand」

 Then she patted my head. Then I immediately fell asleep.


*sorry for the late update. last time I got some bad marks in my studies, so I was forced to focus studying. Maybe, in later time I’m not able to update regularly until I get the pass result.

2 thoughts on “Chapter 21 – Inn”

  1. Wait… do they really not know how to eat bread properly?
    I mean no matter how undeveloped the world is, at least they know how to eat hard bread.

    Like

Leave a comment