Chapter 6 – Power Control & Hunting

PREVIOUSTOCNEXT

… 

I opened my eyes and look around.

The skin of the trees was right in front of me, just like yesterday.

「fuah–」

 Stretch the body upward, absent-mindedly.

「Alright! 」

 For now, I’m going to get down from the top of the tree. I was in a hurry yesterday, but let’s get a proper landing this time.

 Stuck.

 It wasn’t as if I was shocked.

「…I should still try to understand my power, shouldn’t I? 」

 Okay! Today is a test of my power!

 I ran for a while, aiming for a tree about 50 meters away, and then I ran as fast as I could. And then…

「Whoa! 」

 doshieen!

 I hit a tree.

「Ouch…」

 It doesn’t hurt, but I kind of say that. Now, how many seconds did it take me to get here?

「…it’s a world record」.

 That’s not possible! I don’t think it took you more than a second to do that.

『Yes, 0.87 seconds. That’s 43 meters away.』

「Oh, yeah…」

 I’m not sure if this is the right way to go, but it is. I’m going to have to say that I’m going to have to learn to control this power, or I’m going to die someday. There’s no such thing as a power you can’t use.

「Let’s try to get a feel for it by running or jumping lightly for now.」

 Boom! Baggy! Beko!

「I know it doesn’t hurt, but…」

 Woah…what’s happened here? There’s a crater or something. Hahaha….

「Yes, I didn’t see anything! 」

 Anyway, it’s better that we’re in control now! Now, let’s get to the practice!

『I recommend using search skills』

 Haku said. I mean, how do you use a skill?

『It’s an embodiment of an ability, so you can do it by feel. Searching is activated when you focus on the signs around you』.

 So I grabbed my wooden sword and tried to look for signs. Then I found all sorts of reactions. It’s like some kind of electrical signal being sent to my head. It looks like the one with the strongest reaction is the strongest one. Then let’s go with the one with the smallest reaction.

 After a few minutes of walking, I held my breath and killed the signs as the reaction got closer and closer.

 I peeked out of the grass and saw what looked like a wild boar there. It was exactly like that when it was huffing and puffing.

 I put all my strength into my legs and approached it at once.

 …Huh! Bumoo!

 It’s too late to notice. I thought hitting it with the wooden sword wouldn’t do much damage, so I put magic on the sword. I’m going to put wind on it. I imagine a sharp cutting blade.

「Ha! 」

 I slashed upwards from the bottom to the top, aiming for the neck. I was able to cut off both swords with almost no resistance.

 Hugo…

 Apparently, I was able to defeat it.

「Uh… yay! 」

 I could take them down with the weapons I made! This is a good harvest.

「The food secured now? 」

 It looks no different than a wild boar on earth. It looks quite big and heavy.

「…Could I possibly carry this? 」

『With Marina-sama physical abilities, it is possible』

 I hug the boar and try to lift it up.

「…light」

 It only felt like a cushion.

「Huh…what the hell am I? 」

 Anyway, I take it to the river. I carried it there and realized I was getting blood in return, so I washed my clothes in the river. Then I put out some warm air with the image of a hairdryer, and it worked, and I was able to dry them off.

「Now, I brought it in, but… how do you take it apart? 」

『We recommend using the infinite storage』

「Infinite storage? 」

 Well, that’s what it’s all about.

「How can you do that? 」

『things can be stored in a different space, where they can be formulated and dismantled』

「Does that mean they’ll do it on their own? 」

The dismantling process is fully automated.

 Oh! This is so easy!

「How do I get in? 」

『you can touch the object you want to put it in and say ” storage” or you can imagine it in another space』

 Oh, that’s…

『Yes,  Marina-sama previous encounters with the Bullet Rabbit and the Tempest Grizzly are stored in the Infinite Storage』

 Oh…that’s what that phenomenon was about…I mean, that rabbit and bear were named that way.

 I touched the boar as I was told and imagined storing it in a different space. Then, the boar vanished smoothly.

「Did you get it? 」

『Yes. Check your infinite storage』

「Check…」

 Just as I was thinking that, something like a status plate suddenly appeared in front of me.

「Oh! This is it! 」

 I looked and sure enough, there was a rabbit and a bear in that one. Also the wild boar from earlier. There was something like a cursor, and I could manipulate it just by thinking in my head.

『Put the cursor on the thing you just stored and think of it as a demolition』.

 As I put the cursor on the boar just now and reminded myself to dismantle it, it was divided into fur, innards and meat, and sorted out.

「Oh! It’s so self-organizing! This is easy to see」.

 In the meantime, I’d like to take the meat out and see it, but…

「I think we should have a table…」

 As expected, I don’t want to put it directly on the ground.

『Then the table can be made with earth magic or ice magic』

 Oh, that’s the way it works. I’m going to put meat on it, so maybe ice?

 I imagined an ice table. It was completed in three seconds of the thing.

「Oh! That’s pretty good, isn’t it? 」

 I put the meat out on it. I could get it out and so on with a reminder. Now it was time to cook.

 I chopped and gathered the logs that were lying nearby with the wind cutter. Then I imagined a lighter, lifted my finger and

「Fire」

 I said, and a lighter fire came out of my fingertips, just as I imagined it would.

「Oh! 」

 Anyway, I’m going to put that on the tree. This wood seems to have oil in it, and it burned well.

「Can I burn it with this? 」

 I use wind magic to turn the meat out on the ice table into bite size pieces and stick them on the wooden skewers I had prepared.

「Oh, good」

 I roast it over the fire. It smells so good.

「I’m worried about it, I need to make sure it’s cooked properly. Oh, I wish I had some salt… 」

 I grill the meat while complaining about buzzing.

「Is it about time? 」

 Grab a piece of burnt meat.

「Heat! But it’s delicious! 」

 It tastes a bit like hard beef. The more you chew, the more juices flow out of the meat.

「Tasty! 」

 I was satisfied and began to clean up. The fire I’d started seemed to have no fear of spreading, so I left it in place, and then I wondered what to do about the ice table.

『objects created by magic can be erased by losing the enchantment they contain, by releasing or channeling magic』

「Heh, so does that mean it will disappear if you leave it in place? 」

『Originally it would disappear, but this time I thought it wouldn’t because of the strong image of Marina-sama』

 What’s that! Was I that kind of powerful?

『It is an effect of knowledge. So it can only be erased by channeling magic power』

 … It sounds like you did something unsophisticated and substandard.

『unsophisticated, substandard』

「You don’t have to say it so clearly! 」

 While complaining to Haku, I touch the ice table. When I channeled my magic power from there, the ice table seemed to melt into the air and disappeared.

「…beautiful…」

『Yeah, right』

 Now that we’ve cleared the ice table, are we ready to go?

『still remains』

「What? What’s left of it? 」

『the smell of blood in this area』

 I didn’t pay much attention to it, but if you ask me, it sure smells like blood.

「What should I do? 」

『You can diffuse it with wind magic or purify it with life magic called ” clean”』

「Life magic? 」

 Didn’t I see that on the status sheet?

『Life magic is a very useful magic for living, and it’s not an exaggeration to say that everyone in this world can use it. So it doesn’t show up in your status 』

 I see. So you know you can use it.

『Clean is mainly used to remove dirt and odors from the body』

 That’s why you said clean and purifying. Come to think of it, I want to cleanse my body too, and I think I’ll use it.

『So, think of a scent you wish to erase and chant “clean.”』

「CLEAN」

 Then I found that the smell of blood that had been there before was completely gone.

「Oh! The air has changed! 」

『When you clean your body, it’s easier to do it with the image of dirt being removed』

「Oh, right, thanks! 」

『No problem』

 The next thing I knew, it was already dark around me.

「Huh…」

 Maybe it’s because I’m full, but I’m furiously sleepy.

「It’s almost night, let’s go to bed now」

 I quickly used the clean and once I felt my body was clean, I fell asleep in the same position as yesterday.

 The wild boar she defeated was a monster called 『Big Boar』, a powerful enemy that five adults could hunt with a bit of force… but she didn’t know that.

PREVIOUSTOCNEXT

One thought on “Chapter 6 – Power Control & Hunting”

Leave a comment