Chapter 14 – My Decision

PREVIOUS – TOC – NEXT


It’s been a long time since the last time I updated this series, I’m sorry because currently I’m a bit busy with my college issues and other projects. Please comment if there’re typos or mistranslations. Hope you enjoy.


 The next day, I woke up and find someone other than myself.

「… Oh, I see」

 I welcomed them yesterday. As I recall, Gil-san? I guess that was. Those Gil-san and friends looked like they were still asleep, so I got out of bed trying not to wake them up and turned to the one who was hurt.

「Her breath is so heavy…」

 Moreover she has a fever. She seems in a lot of pain.

『It appears that her cells are dying』

「Hah?」

 I gasped, but Gil-san and the others didn’t seem to be awake. So, what do you mean?

『Apparently the bone is still fractured, and it’s starting to necrosis from there』

 You said the bone was still broken… well, I guess it was all I could do to stop the bleeding then.

「Can it be healed?」

『Yes. Besides, I don’t think the people of this world would understand the word “cell”』

 Well… that’s…

『Practically speaking, only Marina-sama can do that』

 You are right. I’d like to help heal her, but…

『Probably this person’s friends are not aware of it, so I don’t think they’ll notice if you cure them.』

 It’s certainly. I mean, I never thought you’d hit the nail on the head about what I was worried about.

『Thank you』

 Yeah. Count on me. So, where shall we go with this? I can probably get this woman back on her feet today, but…

『I think it’s just the necrotic cells and the fractures』

 Is that true?

『Yes. Her friend was able to use healing magic, so I guess it’s not a problem.』

 Sure it does. Okay!

 I cast the healing magic. The image of necrotic cells regenerating and bones connecting with each other.

 Then her body glows for a moment, and then it immediately fades. I look at her face and she seems much better than before. Her breathe is also stable.

「That’s good…」

『Good job master. Now there’s no problem.』

 Yeah, now that I’ve gotten Haku’s acknowledgment, I think I’ll make some breakfast.

「Hmm…I guess I’ll just have to make soup…」

 I can’t do anything else because I don’t have any ingredients. Should we go to town then?

「Well, not for now」.

 For now, put water in the pot and heat it up. I think it’s chicken soup again.

 Put the chicken (demon like) bones in the pot and simmer it down. Yesterday, they were surprised when I added Jiril grass to the soup, but it’s the best, so I added it again today. I also added carrots (called “carro” here) and some chicken (demon) meat to the pot and boiled it down. It seems Gil-san and the others were awakened by the smell of the food and started to wake up.

「Good morning!」

「Fuuu…eehh, good morning」

「Good morning~」

「Good morning, you even already prepared?」

「Of course. Please hold on for a moment」.

 I poured the soup into a bowl and brought it to the table.

「Hey, this soup, no way…」

「Yes. There’s jiril grass in it. Was it too bad?」

「No! It ain’t bad at all! (I didn’t imagine to eat Jiril grass twice in my lifetime…)」

「Thanks. but are you really okay with that?」

「Of course. Besides, I can’t eat it all by myself」

 It’s true, a serving of soup for one person is about 5 girilgrass, but I have over a thousand in my inventory… Well, it seems that the Jiril grass isn’t used to make potions, it’s just for food. By the way, Inventory does the process of mixing potions for me, but I haven’t made many of them since I don’t use them.

「Delicious! Can I get a refill again?」

 I think it was Bucket-san, right? It makes me happy to see you look that happy!

「Of course! Please eat a lot, okay?」

「Thanks–!」

 …Huh? Was he this kind of character?

「Bucket is back to normal」

「What? Is that what he is?」

「Yes. It’s like that when he’s only with us or other people he trusts」.

「Heee」

 Does that mean he trusts me?

「Oh, that was delicious!」

「You ate the most」

「really…」

「Because I’ve never had such a good soup before!」

 Yeah, I’m glad…but…people can change so much.

 Then I was cleaning up afterwards.

「I’ll help you」

 And, Lina-san? said, and we cleaned up afterwards together.

「Hey, Marina-chan?」

 As I was cleaning up, Lina-san spoke to me.

「What?」

「Do you want to go to town, Marina-chan?」

 A city, a city…I’d be lying if I said I didn’t want to go there. I’d like to see some spices and other things, and I’d like to know what kind of food this world has to offer.

 …and maybe a church. I think it’s probably only in a pretty big city.

「Ye–s…」

 And I was reluctant to do so.

「You know it’s not forced, right? I just wondered if Marina-chan could go with us if you wanted to go to town」.

 …This could be a very generous offer. Maybe in a larger city, you might need an ID or something, and if we’re together, I think we can handle that part of it. So…

「…I, I want to go to town!」

「….hmmm! So…so… but are you sure?」

「Yes. I’ve been wanting to go there for a long time」

「Well… then come with us! I think we’ll leave after Fina wakes up…」

「Fina?」

 Who? I guess that’s someone who’s sleeping right now.

「Oh, I haven’t told you that yet. The one sleeping right now is Fina. She’s a childhood friend of mine」

 Heh! So that she was.

「Well, I’ll look forward to having you around then」.

 I bowed my head.

「Fufufu. You don’t have to be so freaked out, okay?Ehm, nice to know you?」

 Now we can finally get out of the soup life!

 I completed the day in a good mood.

PREVIOUS – TOC – NEXT

Leave a comment